top of page


Time and Location

20 Nov, 6:00 am – 8:00 am GMT-7

Yas Marina Circuit - Yas Island - Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates

General Information

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is a Formula One motor racing event. It was announced in early 2007 at the Abu Dhabi F1 Festival in the United Arab Emirates. The first race took place on 1 November 2009, held at the Hermann Tilke designed Yas Marina Circuit.
On 25 June 2008, the FIA announced the provisional 2009 Formula One calendar including the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix as the 19th and final race of the season on 15 November. On 5 November 2008, however, it was announced that the race would be held as the season finale on 1 November, two weeks before the initially planned date, as the 17th and final race. The event has been held every year since and is due to take place at the Yas Marina Circuit until at least 2030.
The inaugural race was Formula One's first day-night race, starting at 17:00 local time. Floodlights used to illuminate the circuit were switched on from the start of the event to ensure a seamless transition from daylight to darkness. Subsequent Abu Dhabi Grands Prix have also been day-night races.

Most Successful Driver

Lewis Hamilton (5 wins)

Latest Winner

Max Verstappen (2021)

bottom of page