top of page
Barcelona GP Logo.jpg


Time and Location

22 May, 6:00 am – 8:00 am GMT-7

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Carrer Mas Moreneta, s/n, 08160, Barcelona, Spain

General Information

The Spanish Grand Prix is a Formula One motor racing event currently held at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The race is one of the oldest in the world still contested, celebrating its centenary in 2013.

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is also regularly used for winter testing, meaning the drivers and teams know the track very well. The Spanish Grand Prix looked set to fall off the calendar in 2020, but its immediate future was secured thanks to a cash injection from the local government. While the longer-term future of the event remains in doubt, Carlos Sainz’s move to Ferrari in 2021, and Fernando Alonso’s return to the sport, are likely to boost spectator figures.

The Spanish F1 Grand Prix was a favourite of Michael Schumacher, who won the race six times in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Lewis Hamilton equalled Schumacher’s Spanish Grand Prix win record in 2021. Other multiple winners of the event include Jackie Stewart, Mika Hakkinen, Nigel Mansell and Alain Prost, each with three wins apiece. In recent years, the spoils have been more evenly divided. In fact, between 2007-2016, the Spanish Grand Prix was won by ten different drivers! That goes some way to explaining why only three of the current crop of F1 drivers have more than two wins at the circuit. In addition to Hamilton’s six wins, Kimi Raikkonen (2005, 2008) and Fernando Alonso (2006, 2013) have each scored two wins at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. 

bottom of page