top of page


Time and Location

19 June, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm GMT-7

Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, Parc Jean-Drapeau, Montréal, QC H3C 6A1, Canada

General Information

The Canadian Grand Prix has been part of the Formula One World Championship since 1967. It was first staged at Mosport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario, as a sports car event, before alternating between Mosport and Circuit Mont-Tremblant, Quebec, after Formula One took over the event. After 1971, safety concerns led to the Grand Prix moving permanently to Mosport. In 1978, after similar safety concerns with Mosport, the Canadian Grand Prix moved to its current home at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve on Notre Dame Island in Montreal.

The fast, low-downforce circuit is one of the drivers’ favorites. The track is quite a stop-start, with lots of heavy-braking chicanes and the famous hairpin to get the anchors working hard. Out of the corners, though, the track is quick and flowing, while the most iconic piece of the circuit comes right at the end of the lap: the Wall of Champions, so-called after excursions into it from Damon Hill, Jacques Villeneuve, and Michael Schumacher during the 1999 Canadian Grand Prix weekend.
In 2005, the Canadian Grand Prix was the most-watched Formula One GP in the world. The race was also the third most-watched sporting event worldwide, behind the first place Super Bowl XXXIX and the UEFA Champions League Final.[
Preceding the qualifying session in 2014, the Grand Prix organizers announced they had agreed to a 10-year extension to keep the Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve through 2024. The 2020 and 2021 events were canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Canada.

Most Successful Driver(s)

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton (7 wins)

Latest Winner

Lewis Hamilton (2019

bottom of page