top of page


Time and Location

9 Oct, 10:00 pm – 10 Oct, 12:00 am GMT-7

Suzuka International Racing Course, 7992 Inouchō, Suzuka, Mie 510-0295, Japan

General Information

The Japanese Grand Prix (日本グランプリ) is a motor racing event in the calendar of the Formula One World Championship. Historically, Japan has been one of the last races of the season, and as such the Japanese Grand Prix has been the venue for many title-deciding races, with 13 World Champions being crowned over the 34 World Championship Japanese Grands Prix that have been hosted. Japan was the only Asian nation to host a Formula One race (including the Pacific Grand Prix) until Malaysia joined the calendar in 1999.

The first two Formula One Japanese Grands Prix in 1976 and 1977 were held at the Fuji Speedway before Japan was taken off the calendar. It returned in 1987 at Suzuka, which hosted the Grand Prix exclusively for 20 years and gained a reputation as one of the most challenging F1 circuits. Suzuka has hosted the Japanese Grand Prix every year since 2009, apart from in 2020 and 2021 when the Japanese GP was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The circuit, set inside a funfair, was designed by Dutchman John Hugenholtz and owned by Honda, who used it as a test track. Most notable initially for its layout—Suzuka is the only figure-eight race track to appear on the F1 calendar—the demanding and fast Japanese circuit became very popular among drivers and fans, and it was to see some of the most dramatic and memorable moments in Formula One history. The high-speed track remains one of the ultimate driving challenges, with the snaking ‘S’ Curves, the two commitment-rewarding Degners, and the white-knuckle ride of 130R all highlights in a series of highlights at what is one of F1’s seminal tracks.

Most Successful Driver

Michael Schumacher (6 wins)

Latest Winner

Valterri Bottas (2019)

bottom of page